• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Google Plus

Feifer & Greenberg, LLP
Call Us: (888) 842 - 5384
11 Jan2018

Commercial Driver License – CDL

In the state of New York, a commercial driver license, or CDL, allows a person to legally drive one or more of three types of vehicles: Class A, Class B and Class C.

A Class A vehicle is one that is towing more than 10,000 pounds and has a combined weight of 26,001 pounds. A Class B vehicle is one that is towing less than 10,000 pounds with a combined weight of more than 26,001 pounds. Finally, a Class C vehicle is one that is used to haul hazardous materials or transport more than 16 people.

Anyone wishing to qualify for a commercial driver’s license in New York must be at least 18 years of age. In addition, that person must obtain medical certification and pass a vision exam. Until a driver is 21 years of age, they may not transport cargo over state lines.

Persons applying for a CDL must take an exam and a practical test. To obtain a CDL, an applicant must pass a driving test while driving the class of vehicle for which they want a license. For example, a person will be issued a Class B license after passing a practical test while driving a Class B vehicle.

Once a CDL is issued, a driver may wish to earn additional qualifications or endorsements. The education necessary to earn these qualifications and endorsements is typically provided by a truck driving school. The New York State Department of Motor Vehicles website has additional information for anyone interested in a commercial driver’s license.